2019 AFL Brownlow Medal

The 2019 AFL Brownlow Medal takes place on September 23. The contenders, odds, predictions and range of markets available for this grand night are all here!


The 2019 Brownlow Medal will take place on Monday, September 23 at the Crown Palladium in Melbourne.

The Brownlow Medal is the most prestigious player award in the AFL, given to the best and fairest player in the elite level of the game over the whole season. Every game of every week in the regular season sees the best 3 players on field, as adjudicated by the 3 match umpires, awarded points. The best is awarded 3, second best with 2 and third best 1.

After the regular season has finished, the votes are then compiled and in a big gala event, they are revealed, where the player who has accumulated the most points is declared the winner.

In 2019 it’s expected that the race for the medal could get very close towards the end of the season as several teams and players hit peak form running into the finals, while some others who started great saw their side’s form tail off in the back end of the year.

2019 Brownlow Preview

The Brownlow Medal favourite for a few weeks now has been Geelong’s Patrick Dangerfield, followed by Lachie Neale from the Brisbane Lions, Marcus Bontempelli of the Western Bulldogs and Nat Fyfe from Fremantle.

There is one Brownlow medal tips that stands head and shoulders above all else, that midfielders more often than not, are the players winning the Brownlow, so it would make sense to lean that way with your Brownlow prediction. Brownlow favourite for this year, Patrick Dangerfield, as well as the next three best priced players are all midfielders, showing the dominance of the position in this award.

2019 Brownlow Predictor

2019 Brownlow Contenders

Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong) had a good first half of the year but lifted for the back half, coming home strong, even if Geelong didn’t, with many commentators believing he’s done more than enough to secure the coveted award for an impressive second time.

Lachie Neale (Brisbane) much like the Lions, Neale came home with a wet sail as Brisbane won 9 straight games after the bye to storm into the top 4. He is expected to score well in the back half of the season and looks to be Dangerfield’s biggest threat.

Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs) had a very good season despite playing for the erratic Bulldogs, who won 5 of their opening 13 games before winning 7 of 9 matches to reach the finals. Another player who will score strongly in the run home.

Nat Fyfe (Fremantle) was the star in an underwhelming season for the Dockers. He was considered a front runner for the Brownlow at various parts of the season, however the strong performances of other players running into the finals has seen him drift out of the picture in the eyes of many commentators and pundits.

Past Brownlow Medal Winners

2018 – Tom Mitchell
2017 – Dustin Martin
2016 – Patrick Dangerfield
2015 – Nat Fyfe
2014 – Matt Priddis
2013 – Gary Ablett Jr.
2012* – Sam Mitchell and Trent Cotchin
2011 – Dane Swan
2010 – Chris Judd
2009 – Gary Ablett Jr.

*2012 saw Essendon’s Jobe Watson poll the most votes and awarded the medal, only to be ruled ineligible.

Multiple Brownlow Medal Winners

3 – Haydn Bunton Sr.
3 – Dick Reynolds
3 – Bob Skilton
3 – Ian Stewart
2 – Ivor Warne-Smith
2 – Bill Hutchison
2 – Roy Wright
2 – Keith Greig
2 – Peter Moore
2 – Greg Williams
2 – Robert Harvey
2 – Adam Goodes
2 – Chris Judd
2 – Gary Ablett Jr.

With both Nat Fyfe and Patrick Dangerfield tipped to be two of the top contenders for the award this year, if one of them wins, they’ll join the exclusive list of just 14 players to have been awarded a Brownlow Medal more than once.

2019 Brownlow Markets

The winner of the Brownlow medal in 2019 will be the main market everyone will be looking at, however there are a host of other markets available, such as who will receive the most for each club and even head-to-head battles between two players over who will score the most votes.

There are also unique markets such as around specific players points total, combination bets, leader after Rounds 5 and 10, most votes in the last 8 rounds, Brownlow trifecta’s and quinella’s and even top 20 finishes.

With so many options available, you needn’t look any further than Sportsbet for the 2019 AFL Brownlow Medal betting.

What do you think?